OMG it's December already!? - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Dominique Maat - WaarBenJij.nu OMG it's December already!? - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Dominique Maat - WaarBenJij.nu

OMG it's December already!?

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Dominique

08 December 2016 | Nieuw Zeeland, Auckland

Omg it’s December already. Time is flying by so fast, I cannot comprehend. it was a couple of weeks ago when it was ‘sinterklaas’ and only a few more days till Christmas. But I don’t have a Christmas feeling at all. Summer is just starting, but there are Christmas lights and trees, which is really strange…

My third month started pretty much with an event, The Loaded Taniwha. My first mountain bike & trail run/walk event. It was located next to the Waikato river, which was beautiful. Hannah and I went for a run on the trails and the scenery was amazing. Sometimes I just had to stop running to make some pictures. Event day was a long day again, but the weather was great, which made my day and other peoples day good anyway. That evening we had some drinks with colleagues in the house we were staying in. We also watched some fireworks, since it was some sort of holiday. Later in the evening we had a bonfire and went to lie in the grass for some stargazing.

The week after, the French intern had his last week at the office in Auckland. He was going to help out for Cycle Challenge in Taupo and leaving to travel after that. We went to the beach for some drinks and a swim, since the weather was awesome. After some relaxing in the sun, we went for dinner. We all wrote something in a card and had a present for Alex. I already miss you alex, I’ll come over to France when I’m back in Europe!

This weekend was a calm weekend with some parties, sleeping aaaand a dutch supermarket. Yeah, there is a dutch supermarket over here, pretty cool. Maud, Rhodé and I went to Orewa, to Go Dutch to buy Curry kruiden ketchup from Hela, pepernoten and some other stuff. The thing I miss from The Netherlands XD friet speciaal and bread with eggs, spices and curry.
19 Nov we went to Hobbiton with NZI. This was a fun day. Liked it a lot, though the weather was not that good… it was raining . Though, it was really cool to be on the movie set from the hobbit. The next day I went to Mangawhai with Hannah. The weather was amazing and Mangawhai was too. The views were phenomenal. We walked 5km, enjoyed the sun and walked back over the beach.

Another fun weekend was the week after, in Coromandel. We went to the hot water beach, which was really cool. We dug a hole in the sand and it filled up with hot water. Even if you would just put your feet in the ground, it got really hot. I could not keep my feet in long. We were sitting in a ‘hot pool’ for a while (the hot water mixed with sea water), and I was completely covered in sand, thanks Kenneth and Janco. So I had to wash it off in the ocean. Which was cold, but Mark and I ran in anyway.
After a while we went back to the bus. And of course everybody still had their togs on, so the seats got wet. But that doesn’t matter. We didn’t want to change again, because we were going to another beach area; Cathedral Cove. This is the spot where a part from the movie Narnia was filmed, see pics ;D. We stayed here for a while. But then the tide got a bit high and we could not get through the Cove anymore. No just kidding, we were on time. But if the tide was higher we would have had to walk through the water or swim to get back to the other beach area and the track back to the bus.
Before I went in the bus this time, I did change my togs for some dry clothes though.
When we arrived at the hostel it was a hassle to get everybody in the rooms, because all the rooms were different sizes. I stayed in the biggest room, a 12-person room, so that promised to be a long night. At least I thought (eventually everybody was real quiet when they got back to the hostel, but I was the last one to get back anyway). We had a BBQ and went to the beach with a few people.
After a while we went back to the hostel, because we were going to a bar, somewhere near. I forgot something in the room (of course). So I went back to my room, but it was locked. Luckily Kai had the key, and he was just about to leave. He gave me the key and I tried to open the door, but I couldn’t. I asked Kai and Stef to help. They thought I was just being a girl and I could not handle the lock. But they couldn’t open the door either. So we had to look for the manager, who we couldn’t find anymore… so we had to break in to our room and then we could leave to the bar.
Kai, Stef, Menno and I were walking towards the bar, when all of a sudden we saw a lot of people in this beach house. There was a party going on. We were looking at it and we saw some people we knew. We didn’t expect them to be at this random house, which was clearly not the bar. Apparently, some kiwi guys invited everybody in. They were with a small group themselves, from about 4/5 people, and suddenly, the house was filled with over 50 people! Of course, we could not drink all their drinks, so we went to the bar after a while, and they joined us. There was some live music and formula 1 was on tv. Enjoyed this till 1ish, because the bar closed at 1. Bummer… I didn’t want to go back to the hostel yet. I decided to walk back over the beach with Kenneth. We were walking and talking, and we didn’t even know where the hostel was anymore xD we didn’t care though. I went in to the water with my feet and we lied in the sand for a bit. Eventually (around 3) we decided to go back to the hostel and get some sleep. But we still didn’t know where the hostel was. Then we found out it was right next to us all the time. We climbed through some tall grass and walked to the hostel, broke into our room again and went to sleep. The next morning we found out the kayaking was cancelled. At least we could sleep an hour longer thanks to that. The weather was too rough to go out kayaking in the ocean. So instead, we went to another beach, of course. After that we went to a winery somewhere in the Coromandel. We ate something, the bus driver played some music on the guitar, which was cool. After the food we went for the winetasting. But I don’t think we had any wines. We got these shots with liquors and ciders. And a lot. After the ‘winetasting’ we went back to the bus and went back to Auckland. Everybody was so tired, most people slept. I didn’t sleep until I got home.

This was November, my third month already. I’m over half way. Excited to see everybody in NL again, but not ready yet to go back home. December will be a good month. Some more trips planned and of course the best trip, the South Island trip!

Cheers guys, talk soon 

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Dominique

Actief sinds 07 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 381
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5424

Voorgaande reizen:

07 September 2016 - 26 Januari 2016

My first journey

Landen bezocht: